Müzewest Concerts: A Little Night Chamber Music

Müzewest Concerts is thrilled to present "A Little Night Chamber Music," featuring six talented musicians in the Canadian music scene!


Hugo Lee, oboe
Cristian Markós, cello
Michelle Powell, piano
Enoch Ng, viola
Billie Smith, violin
Edmund Chung, violin

Hugo Lee is an oboist to watch from Toronto. He was the winner of the 2014 Juilliard Oboe Concerto Competition, and has since gone on to perform in concert halls throughout New York city and Canada. He has recently completed his Bachelor of Music at The Juilliard School in New York City under the tutelage of Elaine Douvas.

Romanian-Canadian cellist Cristian Márkos has been a member of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra since 1999. He has toured extensively across the globe as a soloist, and continues to provide education at the VSO School of Music and the Vancouver Academy of Music.

Michelle Powell is a Canadian pianist who received a Professional Studies Diploma and a Masters degree in piano performance from the Université de Montréal. She has proven herself an in-demand collaborative pianist and adjudicator, having most recently joined the Windara piano quartet, based in Paris.

Enoch Ng is a 4th year undergraduate student at UBC studying under the guidance of professor David Harding. He has made great strides performing with the UBC Symphony Orchestra and the Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra, and continues to push his skills as a violist at summer masterclasses.

Billie Smith grew up playing many different styles of music, including fiddle, bluegrass, and jazz, but has most recently turned to the baroque violin. She is currently finishing her studies with David Gillham, and playing for the UBC Symphony Orchestra.    

Born in Hong Kong, taught in New York at The Juilliard School, Edmund Chung currently plays as an extra in the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, and studies at UBC under David Gillham. Edmund is also expanding his career into festivals such as the Heifetz Institute.



Robert Schumann - Three Romances for Oboe and Piano, op. 94
I. Nicht schnell
II. Einfach, innig
III. Nicht schnell

Camille Saint-Saëns - Sonata for Oboe and Piano, op. 166
I. Andantino
II. Cadenza - Allegretto
III. Molto Allegro

Wolgang Amadeus Mozart - Oboe Quartet in F Major
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Rondo (Allegro ma non troppo)


Johannes Brahms - Piano Quartet, opus 25 in G minor
I. Allegro (G minor)
II. Intermezzo: Allegro ma non troppo - Trio: Animato (C minor, ends in C major)
III. Andante con moto (E-flat major)
IV. Rondo alla Zingarese: Presto (G minor)